Cinderella is Dead by Kalynn Bayron | ARC Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I really struggled rating this book as there were parts I really loved and parts that let the book down a little. Ultimately though, it was a 4* read that provided a much needed re-imagination of the Cinderella story.

Bayron brings to the forefront a POC LGBT story and in doing so draws out many of the issues with the current format of our fairytales. Sophia desperately wants to marry her childhood best friend in a culture that strictly forbids any deviation from expectation. But, she stumbles upon a secret which drives her to move against the King.

At times I found Sophia annoying – she was naive and ignorant to the struggles of people around her. But, I do feel like this was in-line with her character and that, as a young adult, she was believable. The story was a little rushed, I would have loved to get more detail to help pad out the story – but I still thoroughly enjoyed the read.

Without spoiling too much, the ending was satisfying and is what took this rating up to a 4* read. I highly recommend it and it should be required reading for all YA and teen readers – I’ll certainly be sharing it with my younger sister. The book will be released July 7th 2020, so keep your eyes peeled!

Thank you NetGalley and Bloomsbury for providing an ARC in return for an honest review.

Join 278 other subscribers.

2 Comments

  1. bookishbewitched says:

    Sounds interesting! I might share this with my friend, seems like her kind of book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just been approved for this one. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment